Main verses in the Bible telling us Who God is #1 Exclusive Divine Eternal Unseen Creator and Sovereign Spirit God with set apart Name Jehovah

We should recognise that in the bible there is written about several gods but that most attention is brought to come to see that there is only One Major Being Who is the God above all those other gods.

The best way to find out Who that God of gods is, is to examine the Book of books He Himself provided to give insight in His personality and His works.

Creator, Former and Maker God

“ In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” (Ge 1:1 ASV)

“ And God created the great sea-monsters, and every living creature that moveth, wherewith the waters swarmed, after their kind, and every winged bird after its kind: and God saw that it was good.” (Ge 1:21 ASV)

“ And God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.” (Ge 1:27 ASV)

“ These are the generations of the heavens and of the earth when they were created, in the day that Jehovah God made earth and heaven.” (Ge 2:4 ASV)

“7 And Jehovah God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul. 8  And Jehovah God planted a garden eastward, in Eden; and there he put the man whom he had formed.” (Ge 2:7-8 ASV)

“ And out of the ground Jehovah God formed every beast of the field, and every bird of the heavens; and brought them unto the man to see what he would call them: and whatsoever the man called every living creature, that was the name thereof.” (Ge 2:19 ASV)

“1  This is the book of the generations of Adam. In the day that God created man, in the likeness of God made he him; 2 male and female created he them, and blessed them, and called their name {1 } Adam, in the day when they were created. {1) Or Man } (Ge 5:1-2 ASV)

“ And he blessed him, and said, Blessed be Abram of {1 } God Most High, {2 } possessor of heaven and earth: {1) Heb El Elyon 2) Or maker } (Ge 14:19 ASV)

“ And Abram said to the king of Sodom, I have lifted up my hand unto Jehovah, God Most High, possessor of heaven and earth,” (Ge 14:22 ASV)

“ For ask now of the days that are past, which were before thee, since the day that God created man upon the earth, and from the one end of heaven unto the other, whether there hath been any such thing as this great thing is, or hath been heard like it?” (De 4:32 ASV)

“ Do ye thus requite Jehovah, O foolish people and unwise? Is not he thy father that hath {1 } bought thee? He hath made thee, and established thee. {1) Or possessed; Or gotten } (De 32:6 ASV)

“ But none saith, Where is God my Maker, Who giveth songs in the night,” (Job 35:10 ASV)

“ The north and the south, thou hast created them: Tabor and Hermon rejoice in thy name.” (Ps 89:12 ASV)

“ Oh come, let us worship and bow down; Let us kneel before Jehovah our Maker:” (Ps 95:6 ASV)

“ Blessed are ye of Jehovah, Who made heaven and earth.” (Ps 115:15 ASV)

“ My help cometh from Jehovah, Who made heaven and earth.” (Ps 121:2 ASV)

“ Our help is in the name of Jehovah, Who made heaven and earth.” (Ps 124:8 ASV)

“ Jehovah bless thee out of Zion; Even he that made heaven and earth.” (Ps 134:3 ASV)

“ Who made heaven and earth, The sea, and all that in them is; Who keepeth truth for ever;” (Ps 146:6 ASV)

“ The rich and the poor meet together: Jehovah is the maker of them all.” (Pr 22:2 ASV)

“ As thou knowest not what is the way of the {1 } wind, nor how the bones do grow in the womb of her that is with child; even so thou knowest not the work of God who doeth all. {1) Or spirit } (Ec 11:5 ASV)

“ Thus saith God Jehovah, he that created the heavens, and stretched them forth; he that spread abroad the earth and that which cometh out of it; he that giveth breath unto the people upon it, and spirit to them that walk therein:” (Isa 42:5 ASV)

“ But now thus saith Jehovah that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel: Fear not, for I have redeemed thee; I have called thee by thy name, thou art mine.” (Isa 43:1 ASV)

“ every one that is called by my name, and whom I have created for my glory, whom I have formed, yea, whom I have made.” (Isa 43:7 ASV)

“ I am Jehovah, your Holy One, the Creator of Israel, your King.” (Isa 43:15 ASV)

“ Distil, ye heavens, from above, and let the skies pour down righteousness: let the earth open, that {1 } it may {2 } bring forth salvation, and let it cause righteousness to spring up together; I, Jehovah, have created it. {1) Heb they 2) Or be fruitful in salvation } (Isa 45:8 ASV)

“11  Thus saith Jehovah, the Holy One of Israel, and his Maker: Ask me of the things that are to come; concerning my sons, and concerning the work of my hands, command ye me. 12 I have made the earth, and created man upon it: I, even my hands, have stretched out the heavens; and all their host have I commanded.” (Isa 45:11-12 ASV)

“ For thus saith Jehovah that created the heavens, the God that formed the earth and made it, that established it and created it not {1 } a waste, that formed it to be inhabited: I am Jehovah; and there is none else. {1) Or in vain } (Isa 45:18 ASV)

“ The portion of Jacob is not like these; for he is the former of all things; and Israel is the tribe of his inheritance: Jehovah of hosts is his name.” (Jer 10:16 + Jer 51:19 ASV)

“ Ah Lord Jehovah! behold, thou hast made the heavens and the earth by thy great power and by thine outstretched arm; there is nothing too {1 } hard for thee, {1) Or wonderful } (Jer 32:17 ASV)

“ And he answered and said, Have ye not read, {1 } that he who {2 } made them from the beginning made them male and female, {1) Ge 1:27; 5:2. 2) Some ancient authorities read created } (Mt 19:4 ASV)

“ For those days shall be tribulation, such as there hath not been the like from the beginning of the creation which God created until now, and never shall be.” (Mr 13:19 ASV)

“ for in him were all things created, in the heavens and upon the earth, things visible and things invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers; all things have been created through him, and unto him;” (Col 1:16 ASV)

“ and to {1 } make all men see what is the dispensation of the mystery which for ages hath been hid in God who created all things; {1) Some ancient authorities read bring to light what is } (Eph 3:9 ASV)

“ For every house is {1 } builded by some one; but he that {1 } built all things is God. {1) Or established } (Heb 3:4 ASV)

“ After these things I saw, and behold, a door opened in heaven, and the first voice that I heard, a voice as of a trumpet speaking with me, one saying, Come up hither, and I will show thee the things which must {1 } come to pass hereafter. {1) Or come to pass. After these things straightway etc } (Re 4:1 ASV)

“ and sware by him that liveth {1 } for ever and ever, who created the heaven and the things that are therein, and the earth and the things that are therein, {2 } and the sea and the things that are therein, that there shall be {3 } delay no longer: {1) Gr unto the ages of the ages 2) Some ancient authorities omit and the sea and the things that are therein 3) Or time } (Re 10:6 ASV)

Eternal or everlasting God

“ And Abraham planted a tamarisk tree in Beer-sheba, and called there on the name of Jehovah, the Everlasting God.” (Ge 21:33 ASV)

“ The eternal God is thy dwelling-place, And underneath are the everlasting arms. And he thrust out the enemy from before thee, And said, Destroy.” (De 33:27 ASV)

“ Behold, God is great, and we know him not; The number of his years is unsearchable.” (Job 36:26 ASV)

“ Before the mountains were brought forth, Or ever thou {1 } hadst formed the earth and the world, Even from everlasting to everlasting, thou art God. {1) Heb gavest birth to } (Ps 90:2 ASV)

“ Thy throne is established of old: Thou art from everlasting.” (Ps 93:2 ASV)

“ LAMEDH. For ever, O Jehovah, Thy word is settled in heaven.” (Ps 119:89 ASV)

“25 Of old didst thou lay the foundation of the earth; And the heavens are the work of thy hands. 26 They shall perish, but thou shalt endure; Yea, all of them shall wax old like a garment; As a vesture shalt thou change them, and they shall be changed: 27 But thou art the same, And thy years shall have no end.” (Ps 102:25-27 ASV)

“ Trust ye in Jehovah for ever; for in {1 } Jehovah, even Jehovah, is an {2 } everlasting rock. {1) Heb Jah 2) Or a rock of ages } (Isa 26:4 ASV)

“ Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard? {1 } The everlasting God, Jehovah, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary; there is no searching of his understanding. {1) Or Jehovah is an everlasting God, the Creator…he fainteth not etc } (Isa 40:28 ASV)

“ But Jehovah is {1 } the true God; he is the living God, and an everlasting King: at his wrath the earth trembleth, and the nations are not able to abide his indignation. {1) Or God in truth } (Jer 10:10 ASV)

“ Now unto the King {1 } eternal, {2 } immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory {3 } for ever and ever. Amen. {1) Gr of the ages; Compare Heb 1:2; Re 15:3. 2) Gr incorruptible 3) Gr unto the ages of the ages } (1Ti 1:17 ASV)

The Unseen Spirit God Who is One

“20 And he said, Thou canst not see my face; for man shall not see me and live. 21 And Jehovah said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon the rock: 22 and it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a cleft of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand until I have passed by: 23 and I will take away my hand, and thou shalt see my back; but my face shall not be seen.” (Ex 33:20-23 ASV)

“ and ye said, Behold, Jehovah our God hath showed us his glory and his greatness, and we have heard his voice out of the midst of the fire: we have seen this day that God doth speak with man, and he liveth.” (De 5:24 ASV)

“ Hear, O Israel: {1 } Jehovah our God is one Jehovah: {1) Or Jehovah our God, Jehovah is one; Or Jehovah is our God, Jehovah is one; Or Jehovah is our God, Jehovah alone } (De 6:4 ASV)

“ That they may know that {1 } thou alone, whose name is Jehovah, Art the Most High over all the earth. {1) Or thou, whose name alone is Jehovah, art etc } (Ps 83:18 ASV)

“ Ye are my witnesses, saith Jehovah, and my servant whom I have chosen; that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.” (Isa 43:10 ASV)

“ No man hath seen God at any time; {1 } the only begotten Son, who is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him. {1) Many very ancient authorities read God only begotten } (Joh 1:18 ASV)

“ {1 } God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship in spirit and truth. {1) Or God is spirit } (Joh 4:24 ASV)

“ Concerning therefore the eating of things sacrificed to idols, we know that no idol is anything in the world, and that there is no God but one.” (1Co 8:4 ASV)

“ Now the Lord is the Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.” (2Co 3:17 ASV)

“ Now unto the King {1 } eternal, {2 } immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory {3 } for ever and ever. Amen. {1) Gr of the ages; Compare Heb 1:2; Re 15:3. 2) Gr incorruptible 3) Gr unto the ages of the ages } (1Ti 1:17 ASV)

“ By faith he forsook Egypt, not fearing the wrath of the king: for he endured, as seeing him who is invisible.” (Heb 11:27 ASV)

The exclusive Sovereign God with the Holy Name Jehovah

“2 I am Jehovah thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of {1 } bondage. {1) Heb bondmen }3 Thou shalt have no other gods {1 } before me. {1) Or besides me }4 Thou shalt not make unto thee a graven image, nor any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: 5 thou shalt not bow down thyself unto them, nor serve them; for I Jehovah thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, upon the third and upon the fourth generation of them that hate me,” (Ex 20:2-5 ASV)

“ (for thou shalt worship no other god: for Jehovah, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God);” (Ex 34:14 ASV)

“ Thou shalt have no other gods {1 } before me. {1) Or besides me } (De 5:7 ASV)

“ Phinehas, the son of Eleazar, the son of Aaron the priest, hath turned my wrath away from the children of Israel, in that he was jealous with my jealousy among them, so that I consumed not the children of Israel in my jealousy.” (Nu 25:11 ASV)

“ with whom Jehovah had made a covenant, and charged them, saying, Ye shall not fear other gods, nor bow yourselves to them, nor serve them, nor sacrifice to them:” (2Ki 17:35 ASV)

“1  {1 } Praise ye Jehovah. Praise ye Jehovah from the heavens: Praise him in the heights. {1) Heb Hallelujah }2 Praise ye him, all his angels: Praise ye him, all his host. 3 Praise ye him, sun and moon: Praise him, all ye stars of light. 4 Praise him, ye heavens of heavens, And ye waters that are above the heavens. 5 Let them praise the name of Jehovah; For he commanded, and they were created.” (Ps 148:1-5 ASV)

“ and go not after other gods to serve them, and to worship them, and provoke me not to anger with the work of your hands; and I will do you no hurt.” (Jer 25:6 ASV)

“ Yet I am Jehovah thy God from the land of Egypt; and thou {1 } shalt know no god but me, and besides me there is no saviour. {1) Or knowest } (Ho 13:4 ASV)

“ Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, {1 } Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve. {1) De 6:13 } (Mt 4:10 ASV)

“ And he answering said, {1 } Thou shalt love the Lord thy God {2 } with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; {3 } and thy neighbor as thyself. {1) De 6:5. 2) Gr from 3) Le 19:18 } (Lu 10:27 ASV)

“ Or is God the God of Jews only? is he not the God of Gentiles also? Yea, of Gentiles also:” (Ro 3:29 ASV)

“13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? What shall I say unto them? 14 And God said unto Moses, {1 } I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, {2 } I AM hath sent me unto you. {1) Or I AM, BECAUSE I AM; Or I AM WHO AM; Or I WILL BE THAT I WILL BE 2) Heb Ehyeh; From the same root as Jehovah }15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, Jehovah, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.” (Ex 3:13-15 ASV)

“2 And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, I am Jehovah: 3 and I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, as {1 } God Almighty; but {2 } by my name Jehovah I was not {3 } known to them. {1) Heb El Shaddai 2) Or as to 3) Or made known } (Ex 6:2-3 ASV)

“ but in very deed for this cause have I made thee to stand, to show thee my power, and that my name may be declared throughout all the earth.” (Ex 9:16 ASV)

“ Jehovah is a man of war: Jehovah is his name.” (Ex 15:3 ASV)

“ Thou shalt not take the name of Jehovah thy God {1 } in vain; for Jehovah will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name {1 } in vain. {1) Or for vanity (or falsehood) } (Ex 20:7 ASV)

“ An altar of earth thou shalt make unto me, and shalt sacrifice thereon thy burnt-offerings, and thy peace-offerings, thy sheep, and thine oxen: in every place where I {1 } record my name I will come unto thee and I will bless thee. {1) Or cause my name to be remembered } (Ex 20:24 ASV)

“ But it is good for me to draw near unto God: I have made the Lord Jehovah my refuge, That I may tell of all thy works.” (Ps 73:28 ASV)

“ That they may know that {1 } thou alone, whose name is Jehovah, Art the Most High over all the earth. {1) Or thou, whose name alone is Jehovah, art etc } (Ps 83:18 ASV)

“ I am Jehovah, that is my name; and my glory will I not give to another, neither my praise unto graven images.” (Isa 42:8 ASV)

“ And I will sanctify my great name, which hath been profaned among the nations, which ye have profaned in the midst of them; and the nations shall know that I am Jehovah, saith the Lord Jehovah, when I shall be sanctified in you before {1 } their eyes. {1) Or according to another reading your } (Eze 36:23 ASV)

“ And I will magnify myself, and sanctify myself, and I will make myself known in the eyes of many nations; and they shall know that I am Jehovah.” (Eze 38:23 ASV)

“ Jesus therefore saith unto them, My time is not yet come; but your time is always ready.” (Joh 7:6 ASV)

“ And he said unto them, When ye pray, say, {1 } Father, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. {2 } {1) Many ancient authorities read Our Father, who art in heaven; See Mt 6:9. 2) Many ancient authorities add Thy will be done, as in heaven, so on earth. See Mt 6:10 } (Lu 11:2 ASV)

“ For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, {1 } For this very purpose did I raise thee up, that I might show in thee my power, and that my name might be published abroad in all the earth. {1) Ex 9:16 } (Ro 9:17 ASV)

“ For Jehovah is our judge, Jehovah is our lawgiver, Jehovah is our king; he will save us.” (Isa 33:22 ASV)

“ And they, when they heard it, lifted up their voice to God with one accord, and said, O {1 } Lord, {2 } thou that didst make the heaven and the earth and the sea, and all that in them is: {1) Gr Master 2) Or thou art he that did make } (Ac 4:24 ASV)

“ I am the Alpha and the Omega, saith the Lord God, {1 } who is and who was and {2 } who is to come, the Almighty. {1) Or he who 2) Or who cometh } (Re 1:8 ASV)

+

Preceding

Realize Who God Is

A Book to trust #3 Creation and Creator

A Book to trust #14 Writings to show The God #1 The I Am that I Am

A Book to trust #15 Writings to show The God #2 Importance of Being

++

Additional reading

  1. God is One
  2. Only One God
  3. God of gods
  4. Creator of heaven and earth and everything around יהוה
  5. The Divine name of the Creator
  6. I am that I am Ehyeh-Asher-Ehyeh אהיה אשר אהיה
  7. God about his Name יהוה
  8. יהוה , YHWH and Love: Four-letter words
  9. The I Am to explore
  10. Hashem השם, Hebrew for “the Name”
  11. Jehovah Yahweh Gods Name
  12. I Will Cause Your Name To Be Remembered
  13. Jehovah, the Adonai, Elohim God of gods our stronghold
  14. Titles of God beginning with the aleph in Hebrew
  15. El-Shaddai God Almighty Who no-one may see and live
  16. El Shaddai Who appeared unto Abraham
  17. Attributes to God
  18. Sayings around God
  19. Bible sayings about God
  20. A God between many gods
  21. Almighty God above all other gods greater than all gods
  22. God does not change
  23. Full authority belongs to God
  24. God, the Father, the Sole Creator of Heaven and Earth
  25. God’s design in the creation of the world
  26. Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name
  27. Make a joyful noise unto Yahweh, rejoice, and sing praise unto Jehovah
  28. Praise the God with His Name
  29. Praise the most High Jehovah God above all
  30. For Jehovah is greatly to be praised

20 thoughts on “Main verses in the Bible telling us Who God is #1 Exclusive Divine Eternal Unseen Creator and Sovereign Spirit God with set apart Name Jehovah

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.